CONTACT

Our observations

Due to a lack of a real political will and a dearth of funding for state services, environmental education is virtually non-existent in Senegal. The same holds true for the media (radio, TV), which broadcasts only few reports on environmental issues.

Social communication: the basis of all our activities

In order to overcome these obstacles, Oceanium has acquired social expertise, the key to the success of our actions on the ground. Social communication activities are conducted across the country, and environmental education sessions are held in schools and institutions. In-house produced documentaries help us to create awareness. Our actions work toward the end goal of empowering people to implement their own applicable solutions and share them with others.

Innovative support

At Oceanium, we know about the rich traditional wisdom on how to manage the environment. Drawing on this wisdom, we have created a number of communication tools and educational materials, which we distribute large scale through our comprehensive logistics network.

Tools and materials include :

  • brochures: "Plante ton arbre" (Plant your tree), on how to plant mangroves, "Sénégal n’est pas une poubelle" (Senegal is not a waste bin), explaining the lifespan of waste;
  • films produced in Senegal and the region on deforestation, fishing, pollution, best practices and good practical examples, which we present with our cinema trucks ;
  • environmental student exchanges to discover fauna and flora ;
  • exhibitions, technical manuals.

Ensemble, protégeons notre planète !

CONTACT

Nos constats

Faute d’une réelle volonté politique et du manque de moyens des services étatiques, l’éducation à l’environnement est très faible voire inexistante au Sénégal. Le constat est le même pour les médias (radio et télévision), qui diffusent très peu d’informations liées à l’environnement.

La communication sociale à la base de toutes nos actions

Pour palier à cela, l’Oceanium a mis au point une véritable ingénierie sociale, clef du succès de ses actions sur le terrain. Des actions de communication sociale sont menées dans tout le pays ainsi que des séances d’éducation à l’environnement sont tenues dans les écoles et institutions. Facilitées par la création en interne de documentaires de sensibilisation, nos actions ont pour finalité la responsabilisation des populations dans le but de les aider à mettre en œuvre des solutions applicables par elles et reproductibles par d’autres.

Des supports innovants

A l’Oceanium, nous connaissons la grande richesse des savoirs traditionnels en matière de gestion environnementale. Pour les valoriser, nous avons créé de nombreux outils de communication et supports pédagogiques afin de les diffuser à grande échelle grâce à nos moyens logistiques, comme :

  • des affiches : « Plante ton arbre », comment reboiser la mangrove ; le Sénégal n’est pas une poubelle, avec la durée de vie des déchets, etc. ;
  • des films produits au Sénégal et dans la sous-région sur la déforestation, la pêche, la pollution, et aussi les bonnes actions réalisées et les exemples de préservation qui fonctionnent diffusés par nos camions cinémas, etc. ;
  • des séjours d’éducation à l’environnement pour découvrir la faune et la flore ;
  • des expositions, des guides techniques, etc.

Ensemble, protégeons notre planète !

OCEANIUM DAKAR

Route de la petite Corniche Est BP 2224 Dakar Sénégal +221 338 22 24 41 +221 338 42 40 52

Ils nous soutiennent

© Crédits : Design ByReg - Powered by AK Project - Translated by Toni KAATZ-DUBBERKE